I think there were a lot of wonderful looks last night on the red carpet and during the show.  It was pretty consistently good, and some people took some risks that I think paid off in spades.

Anne Hathaway

Whatever you think of Anne Hathaway the Host, she (mostly) killed it this year as Anne Hathaway the Dresser.  This Armani Prive gown she wore during the broadcast is a stunning blue jewel tone, and much different than anything other ladies had on that night.  I also love the off-the-shoulder look.

Sandra Bullock

Red complements Sandra’s hair color and skin tone, and this Vera Wang gown did the job very nicely.  It’s subtle, but with a great shape.

Hailee Steinfeld

For a red carpet newbie, Hailee has been killing it this awards season, opting for dresses that are age-appropriate but not childish.  The pink hue of this Marchesa dress is young, girly and fun.  I love the textured skirt with the light pattern.  Also, she opted to wear Chuck Taylors with the gown for the after parties, which is basically the cutest thing ever.

Mila Kunis

This romantic, ethereal lavender Elie Saab gown went perfectly with Mila’s dark hair.  I love the touch of lace at the bodice, and the texture of the whole thing.

Robert Downey, Jr.

RDJ can almost always be counted on to take chances on the red carpet.  He doesn’t always succeed, but I think this year he did.  I’m a sucker for navy tuxes, anyway, but paired with that white tie and the silk trim on the lapels, and I’m all a twitter for this.

Scarlett Johansson

I would’ve liked this gown without the texturing, if just for the color.  But this Dolce & Gabbana gown goes the extra mile with the pattern and texture.  Working with something burgundy, with a vaguely floral pattern, they took the chance that it could end up looking like upholstery.  But this turned out great.  I really love the sheer lace quality of the top of the dress, around the neckline.

Andrew Garfield

A lot of guys seemed to opt for more complicated tuxes last night – with vests and buttons all over the place (I think I even saw a few double-breasted jackets).  But Andrew kept it nice, clean and simple in a well-tailored suit with a single-button jacket and a classic bow tie.

Helen Mirren

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, but if you look as good as Dame Helen does when you’re the same age, then you must have done something right.  She consistently wows on the red carpet, and this elegant silver gown is no different.  Helen often opts for sleeves, I think, but I appreciate the chance she takes in doing so.  In fact, the sleeves and bodice are easily my favorite parts of the dress.

Cate Blanchett

This is the gown everyone is talking about today.  It could truly be a historical moment in red carpet fashion history.  Cate had balls to go out in something so strange, so very high-fashion.  I adore the texturing, I adore the shape, I adore the color, I adore the little embellishments.  All in all, this Givenchy Couture gown made Cate into a walking work of art.

Amy Adams

Adams hit the red carpet looking very old-school Hollywood.  From the sequined gown to the loose, softly curled hair, to the shape of the dress, she looked every bit the part of a screen siren.  The rich blue color looked tremendous with her hair, as well.  I’m a bit “meh” on the green and silver jewelry she chose, but it can’t really ruin the solid look she has going on.

Anne Hathaway

Like Sandra Bullock, Anne looks good in red.  This is a very structured Vintage Valentino gown.  I love the complex shape of the skirt.  If you look closely along the hemline, you can see the beautiful patterned fabric the skirt was lined with.

