So, I saw Hot Tub Time Machine this evening.  It was… interesting, to say the least.  I don’t know what it says about me that I left wanting to make a rare (sorry about that) Hottie McDottie post for Sebastian Stan, who plays the villain in the film.  He does a terrific job as Blaine, a snotty ski bum in the vein of Roy Stalin from Better Off Dead (and I’m not just saying that because John Cusack is in both films).  His character is also obsessed with the film Red Dawn, which I found hilarious.  Sebastian is also well-known for playing Carter on Gossip Girl and being co-star Leighton Meester’s real life boyfriend.  Last time I watched Gossip Girl (a long time ago), his character was still a “bad guy,” so it seems that he’s got that role nailed down.  He also starred in the short-lived (but supposedly pretty good) TV drama, Kings, and had a role in the Fred Durst directed The Education of Charlie Banks and teen thriller The Covenant. Although it doesn’t say what role he’ll play, IMDb credits him as being in the upcoming film Black Swan, in which Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman get their ballerina on.

Why He’s More Than Just Eye Candy: He grew up in Romania and Austria, so he’s probably more worldly than I.  He got his BFA in acting at Rutger’s University, which is nothing to sneeze at.  He also attended the famous Stagedoor Manor performing arts summer camp.  In 2007, he co-starred with Liev Schreiber on Broadway in the play Talk Radio. I’m personally always impressed when actors do stage work nowadays.  So he’s got some legitimate acting experience and education under his belt, and it’ll be interesting to see what he does in the future.  Hopefully he won’t get pigeonholed as the “smarmy evil dude” (although he certainly does that well).

