Watch This:

Zach Galifianakis:  Live at the Purple Onion

What with all the (deserved) attention Zach (one of my favorite stand-up comedians) has been getting lately due to the success of his film The Hangover, I decided to pop in my “Live at the Purple Onion.”  It’s still as funny as it was the first time.  Zach drunkenly plays piano and shoots one-liners at the crowd (“Have you seen this show on Lifetime about that woman?”  “When you look like me, it’s hard to get a table for one at Chuck E. Cheese”).  It’s fun, it’s silly, and it’s smart.  Seriously.  It’s all of those things.  I think I got my copy from Half.com, but I’m sure one could find it on Amazon.com and the like.

Read This:

Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris

Though I’m not too far into this book, it’s like a novelization of The Office, if The Office was directed by the Coen Brothers.  It’s a darkly funny take on officelife.  For example, when their co-worker’s daughter goes missing  (she turns up strangled in a parking lot – told you it was dark), these advertising firm employees put together flyers with the girl’s picture on them, making sure to thoroughly PhotoShop the little girl’s picture, and to make the word, “Reward” really stand out.  It also manages to feel extremely relevant and timely, as much of it centers around employees getting laid off, and the remaining workers wondering who’s next.  I wouldn’t call it a page-turner, per se, but it is strangely addictive.

Listen to This:

Hair, New Broadway Cast Recording

38822065It was the birth of the rock musical.  The songs, which are about drugs, open-mindedness, racial acceptance, war, the environment, and free love, feel just as relevant now as they were meant to be in the 60s and 70s.  It’s amazing to me that this show was as popular as it was back in the day, let alone that it even made it to Broadway.  Highlights have to be “Donna,” “Flesh Failures,” “Walking in Space,” “Easy to Be Hard,” “Hair,” “Air,” “Electric Blues,” and “Good Morning Starshine.”  A boisterous cast (their energy comes across even though it’s only their voices doing the performing) with some outstanding voices make this album really worth it.  Pick it up or at least download a few of the songs, and let the sunshine in.  Yeah, I said it.

