cp2__oPt

Sorry I haven’t been updating this list.  I haven’t forgotten about it, but I have just started a new job, and am finding that is sucks up a large portion of my time (when I’m not working, I’m trying to rest from working).  Hopefully, now that I’ve started, I’ll be able to manage my time better and can continue with the list on a regular (semi-regular) basis.

Anyway… Chris Pine.  I realize that this is my second post in a row about an actor from the new Star Trek flick, but that’s okay by me.  Pine took on the role of James T. Kirk (later Capt. Kirk), which previously made William Shatner an icon.  He also recently played a neo-Nazi in the shoot-em-up film, Smokin’ Aces.  Soon, he’ll lend his voice to the sci-fi animated film Quantum Quest.  Also on the horizon:  the lead in an indie film, Small Town Saturday Night, another film, Killing Pablo, which is still in development, and negotiations to star in Unstoppable, directed by Tony Scott and co-starring Denzel Washington.

Why He’s More Than Just Eye Candy:  He is slowly redefining himself as a bankable movie star, after starting his career off in a string of mediocre, childish romantic comedies like Princess Diaries 2, Blind Dating, and Lindsay Lohan vehicle Just My Luck.  So far his career re-vamp has been a success:  Star Trek is huge.  He is partially responsible for its success, having turned in a great performance in a timeless role without falling prey to the cheesiness or silly (albeit endearing) syntax of Shatner’s Kirk.  Pine also graduated from UC Berkeley with a degree in English, which I always love to hear about my hotties.

chris-pine-gq-summer-suits-05.xlargercp3

20090407GG014_Star_Trek_XI_Well,  how did that get in there?!

I would also like to dedicate this entry to Jen, because she confessed her admiration of Chris Pine in a previous blog comment.

