glee-club

So, finally the show that I’ve been anticipating for months has premiered, and I can definitely say that it didn’t disappoint.  It was smart, funny, and moving, just as I’d hoped (and secretly knew) it would be.

I’ve heard a bit of criticism that some of the characters are flat and stereotypical, and I would have to agree that the fashion-obsessed boy with the high voice (Kurt) and the sassy black  girl (Mercedes) do tend to dip into “stereotype” territory.  However, in the first episode alone, the writers and actors (etc.) were able to take at least two other semi-stereotypical characters, Rachel the choir nerd (Lea Michele) and Finn the jock (Cory Monteith) and turn them into rounded characters who transcended their stereotypes.  At the beginning of the show, I felt that I had met people exactly like Rachel and exactly like Finn, but by the end, I felt that they were totally different people.  Anyway, if they can do this with two characters in one episode, I’m sure that the other “stereotypical” characters will round out as the show progresses.

Of course, not all of the show was new to me, and I don’t just mean because I’ve been a part of a high school choir.  I read the pilot script a few months ago and it got me even more excited for the premiere.  I’d have to say that while it was radically different in some places (Jane Lynch’s cheerleading coach was a new addition), all the changes were for the better.  They added in funnier characters and jokes, and gave the show a bit more soul.

And oh, the music.  I really, seriously got chills when they sang “Don’t Stop Believin’.”  It made me want to be back in high school again so badly.  I highly suggest that, if you enjoyed the show, you go on iTunes and buy “Don’t Stop Believin’.”  I did and it sounds even better in the recording (as much as I love her voice, Lea Michele was way louder than the other glee members, including Cory Monteith, on the show; it’s more balanced on the recording).

For the most part, the only thing I didn’t like about the show is the fact that I have to wait a whole summer to see it again.  It’s going to be grueling (as is the wait for the next season of “The Office” – with that big revelation at the end, I don’t think I can handle it).  The promo for the rest of the season was amazing, it gave away just enough of what’s to come (although I still want to know when Kristin Chenoweth is going to show up).  Like the pilot, I’m sure the rest of the season will be worth the wait.

