Well, let me hop back up on my soapbox again.  I posted something similar to this about Coldplay the other day, and now I’ve been hearing the same allegations of plagiarism being thrown at comedian Dane Cook.  Now, I like stand-up comedy, and I’ve listened to or watched a few of Dane Cook’s specials.  I will say the man has a crazy energy on stage that makes it look like he’s having a good time, and that’s infectious.  However, his material isn’t anything new, it’s not particularly original or world-changing, and sometimes it’s not even funny.  Listening to or reading his material diminishes the “funny” factor by about a million.  I truly believe the mark of a good comedian is when their words, being read silently, in someone’s head or whatever, without facial expressions, hand gestures, or voice inflection, is still funny.  Dane Cook does not fall into this category of comedian.

Still, I think he’s tolerable.  He doesn’t incite hatred in me the way blatantly idiotic, one-joke, plagiarizing comedians like Carlos Mencia do.  That is until I found out about some of this “stealing jokes” crap.  There are situations where comedians can come up with similar bits.  However, this Demetri Martin bit (and the Dane Cook bit that follows) are so blatantly similar, one cannot really make the argument that it was merely an accident or something.

They both mention being given a smaller-sized shoe, and wondering if the salesperson at the shoe store expects them to lose/have lost their toes.  That’s uncannily similar.

Now here’s one comparing Dane Cook bits to Louis CK bits, and they are eerily similar.  (I think the title of the video, “Louis CK steals from Dane Cook!” is meant to be funny/ironic.  That YouTube user also has one titled, “Queen steals from Vanilla Ice!”).

So there you have it.  Dane Cook = the Vanilla Ice of comedy.  Yeah, “Ice Ice Baby” is a cool song, and you like to listen to it occasionally, but then you hear “Under Pressure” by Queen and David Bowie and you think, “Whoa, why in god’s name did I ever think that butt licker Vanilla Ice made good music?”  And that’s basically Dane Cook and comedy.

Ending with some fun stuff, here’s a video of a (arguably less famous) comedian doing a great Dane Cook impersonation.

DaneCook

