Sorry I can’t embed this.  Just click that and see the trailer.

Now, read what I have to say about it:

I think it looks exactly like I pictured it when reading the book.  I do not, however, think that the editing of the trailer does it justice.  I can tell, from the bits of the movie that they show in the trailer, that it will be awesome, but the quick cuts, the “heart pounding” music, and the ridiculous words that flash across the screen make it look more like a Steven Seagal movie than an adaptation of The Road, one of the more celebrated books to be released in recent years.

Honestly, though, I’m still not sure I’ll see it.  Just reading the book made me nervous, as I do not deal well with books or movies that have an apocalyptic tone (or are flat out set in the apocalypse).  As beautiful as I’m almost certain the film is, I’m not certain that I can pay eight or nine dollars to be severely freaked out and depressed.  Maybe I’ll rent it.

 

