Yusef Islam (formerly Cat Stevens) has recently come out saying that Coldplay’s “Viva la Vida” takes some huge musical cues from his “Foreigner Suite.”

See what you think:

I think that it seems more like a coincidence.  This Joe Satriani song, “If I Could Fly,” (which he has accused Coldplay of ripping off) does sound a whole lot like “Viva la Vida,” and maybe not just coincidentally so:

A little-known band called Creaky Boards has also accused Coldplay of ripping them off with “Viva la Vida.”

This and the Satriani song are uncanny.  So, what’s the deal?  I think the deal is that Coldplay (particularly Chris Martin) wrote the song without realizing that he was so heavily influenced by these other songs (which he’d probably heard before).  I think that the right thing to do is to give these folks writing credits, and maybe a chunk of cash.  But, I’m sure that Coldplay doesn’t read my blog, nor would they care about my opinion.  Let’s just say that my opinion of them has gone down quite a bit, though.

