idoltop8_lTonight’s theme is “Songs from the Year You Were Born.”  Could be interesting.  When’s Broadway night?  That’s my favorite (unless they do jazz/big band night or something, which I don’t think they’ve done for years), so they better do it soon.  Or at all.

Who is that creepy bald-headed man in the audience that they keep cutting to?  Looks like an emotionless Mr. Clean.  Ho ho!  Poop joke, Ryan?  Really?  Whoa, Paula’s “baby” picture was scary.  So, I guess she’s always been on drugs?  How is it that neither she nor Cowell have baby pictures?  Hateful parents, I suppose.

Danny Gokey (“Stand by Me”)- Does it get much cheesier than a large family get-together where the entire family sings “We Are Family?”  No, it does not.  Here at the soft, beginning part of the song, Danny’s voice is sounding a bit pinched and strained.  I think he needs to lose the highlights and glasses and then maybe he can convince people that he’s Robert Downey, Jr.  I’m surprised that this is a more upbeat version of “Stand by Me.”  It’s a little Michael McDonald-esque, but it suited Danny and I kind of enjoyed it.  Nice show opener.

Kris Allen (“All She Wants to Do Is Dance”) – Kris’s anecdote about the ferris wheel attendant telling him to say “hi” to Adam for him was pretty funny.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard this song, but it doesn’t sound like an 80s song (at least not this arrangement).  I’m kind of digging it, though I’ve decided I don’t like this trend of them performing in the audience.  I can’t hear his guitar and I’m kind of thinking that it’s just a distraction, but he does seem to feel more comfortable with it.  I honestly have no idea what Kara is talking about.  “Jazz funk homework” makes no sense to me.  Boy, does Simon like throwing that “indulgent” word around this season.  Most of the time it doesn’t even apply.  I don’t think that the song choice was stupid.

I get so sick of the mixed messages that they send.  “Make it your own, but don’t make it your own if it’s already good enough.”  What?!  WHAT?!  That is ridiculous.

Lil Rounds (“What’s Love Got to Do with It?”) – Oh my god.  This is going to sound like a carbon copy of the original.  I don’t know why the judges are so obsessed with Lil.  She’s got a passable voice, but that’s it.  There’s nothing truly interesting about her.  Paula was dead-on in her critique, and Simon backed it up.

Anoop “Dogg” Desai (“True Colors”) – Cyndi Lauper?  Interesting.  I like the stripped down thing they’ve got going on.  He’s making it his own, dawg.  Honestly, I never knew Cyndi Lauper sang this song.  Learn something new everyday.  The performance was a bit cheesy but overall, it was the best I’ve seen from Anoop in a while.  “Dude, you can actually sing!”  says Randy.  Umm… shouldn’t we have figured that out a long, loooong time ago?  This is the top 8!  It’s pretty sad when Randy is becoming more obsolete than Paula.

Scott MacIntyre (“The Search is Over”) – Okay, the world just imploded.  He doesn’t have a piano, which is strange on its own, but he’s replaced it with… a guitar?  An electric one, at that.  Whoa.  He is layin’ the cheese on thick.  I feel like I’m listening to something equally as cheesy as Michael Bolton, but sung by someone who’s not even as good as MB.  Actually, that’s exactly what this was.  How can anyone enjoy that?  

Alison Iraheta (“I Can’t Make You Love Me”) – Good song choice for her, great chance for her to really showcase her voice outside of the rock stuff.  Now the song is stuck in my head, but I don’t know if that’s because it was memorable or because that song is freakin’ catchy.  I disagree with Simon that her personality isn’t coming through.  She’s very likable to me, and she kind of reminds me of Kelly Clarkson (I was typing that at the exact moment that Randy said it, so let the record show that I thought it first).

Matt Giraud (“Part Time Lovers”) – I think he’s going to be amazing on this song.  Sometimes his Justin Timberlake-iness is a bit overwhelming.  Couldn’t he at least be a bit more subtle about it?  This is almost exactly as if JT were covering this song.  I’m not sure if that’s good or bad.  Whoa, scatting!  Dig that.  The judges definitely liked it, although I wish that they would’ve told him to stop aping Justin Timberlake.  Really, am I the only one who thought that was way too obvious?

Adam Lambert (“Mad World”) – I didn’t catch the song title, so I’m guessing here.  His dad seems a bit embarrassed of him and his hatred of sports.  Love the picture of him with the mustache and three piece suit, too funny.  He’s kind of sounding weird on the beginning of this song.  It’s sounding very musical theatre-ish.  I do love the restraint he’s exercising.  Makes me feel like he’s going to erupt at any moment.  There wasn’t a very concise ending to the song, but that’s different for Adam and probably a good thing.  Oh my goodness me oh my.  Simon just gave Adam a standing ovation.  I have NEVER seen such a thing.  This will go down in the Guinness Book of Records, am I right?  Holy moley.

I’m thinking that Scott is in trouble this week, and that’s a good thing.  It’s about time his butt was off the show.  I’m afraid it could be Lil though, and that’s not because I don’t want her to leave.  I’d be fine with her leaving.  However, I’m afraid that the judges would use up their “save” on her and then they’d be unable to use it if someone like Kris or Alison or Adam got the boot (can you guess who my favorite contestants are?).

