idoltop9_dlPicture stolen from EW.com, by the way.

I hate the theme tonight.  “Top Downloads.”  Kill me.  I get to hear them butcher songs that I have to hear (and loathe) on the radio all the time.

Anoop “Dogg” Desai (Usher’s “Caught Up”) – An Usher song seems like an obvious choice for his smooth R&B type voice, and it’s nice to see him do something a little more upbeat.  Why he has the mic stand, I don’t know.  This song begs for him to work the stage.  Oh, there we go.  Good work Anoop.  Actually, this whole combination is weirding me out a bit.  He’s not doing awful, it’s just… kind of strange.  Not really a great “singing” song.  He pretty much riffed the whole time, and I hate that.

Woah.  Randy’s watch is as big as Kara’s head.  Jesus…

Megan Joy Corkrey (Bob Marley’s “Turn Your Lights Down Low”) – Whoa.  Bob Marley.  This has the potential to be either awesome or atrocious.  I’m hoping for awesome.  If Lauren Hill pulled it off, then Megan probably can too.  She’s in desperate need of a good night.  I think an acoustic performance is way overdue.  The band sometimes overwhelms her.  At least she’s not pronouncing things oddly this evening.  During the lulls in the song, she should wander the stage or something a bit less awkward.  Not bad, overall, though.  I don’t see why that’s not a good song for her.  To Kara, who said that she should exercise her falsetto AND sing Adele’s “Chasing Pavements”… that song doesn’t go up in that range.  Way to send some mixed messages.

Well, Simon just insulted Bob Marley.  Monotonous.  Boring.  Who does he think he is?  I feel kind of irate that they’re suggesting to her that she sing Adele, Duffy, or Amy Winehouse.  She just seems a bit less mainstream than that, and more power to her for it.

Danny Gokey (Rascal Flatts’ “What Hurts the Most”) – No, Danny.  Not everyone likes Rascall Flatts.  In fact, I despise them.  I despise them so much I might turn the channel so I don’t have to hear you sing this.  But I’ll be nice and give you a chance.  It was fairly boring, to me, but I hate the song and the band, and Danny hasn’t impressed me much yet either.  He’s got a good voice and he’s likable, but not much else.

Alison Iraheta (No Doubt’s “Don’t Speak”) – Oh my god, what a great song choice.  And neat to see a female contestant rocking out on the guitar.  Bet Simon knocks her hair and clothing.  I wish I could tell what she was saying, she might need enunciation lessons before I fully jump on her bandwagon.  Nevertheless, she’s pretty much giving the song a good whupping.  Oh, well Randy is the one to mention the clothing.  I knew someone would.  I think it’s kind of nutty, but it fits her, so there’s really no problem.  Simon really has never proven himself as someone who knows fashion, so he should NEVER be allowed to comment on those things.  Honestly, did the outfit take that much away from the performance?  No.

Scott MacIntyre (Billy Joel’s “Just the Way You Are”) – Could there be a more obvious or generic song choice for Scott?  What’s that you say, Scott?  You love Billy Joel?  Oh my god, what a shocker!  I love how, in the video at the beginning, he acted like him just doing a stripped-down thing with the piano was a new tactic for him.  Yeah, that’s funny because he does that EVERY WEEK!  this is probably his best performance, but still, very adult contemporary, boring.  Unfortunately, this might keep him in the competition another week, when I was so sure this would be his last week.  Also, he looks like he has a mullet.  I feel kind of bad for him that he doesn’t know this.

Yes, Paula, you DID tell him to get rid of the piano.  If you laid off the prescription drugs, you would remember this.

Matt Giraud (The Fray’s “You Found Me”) – I really don’t care for this song, it’s boring.  However, it’s also insanely popular and he’s kind of cute so you can bet the votes are going to roll in for him.  I do like how he’s performing it in the audience.  Kind of.  I’m in the air about it.  He was pitchy in some parts, and his voice was rough a few times when it should’ve been smooth.  Basically, Matt just performed the song exactly like The Fray and it was slightly boring.

Lil Rounds (Celine Dion’s “I Surrender”) – I’m sure she can sing it, but that doesn’t really make this song choice interesting.  And what is with the weaves/wigs?  Altogether, this was a very forgettable performance.  I’d like to see Lil carve her own niche and put her own personal stamp on the songs she sings.  It’s not enough that she can sing.  She needs some individuality.

Adam Lambert (Wild Cherry’s “Play That Funky Music”) – I do love this song.  Reminds me of the time my little cousin referred to it as “Funky White Boy.”  Maybe Adam will prove himself to be a funky white boy.  I do like that he’s taken to keeping his hair off his face by slicking it back.  Also, I like that he’s been showcasing his chest voice.  He’s been taking his time before going up in that falsetto of his.  I think Adam is on a roll.  He’s definitely the one to beat.

Kris Allen (“Ain’t No Sunshine”) – Good luck making this one your own, buddy.  So many people have done this song before.  I think his voice is well-suited to it, though, and it’s cool to see him play another instrument.  He is kind of putting his own stamp on this.  Big kudos, and a big surprise.  I liked it a lot.  He is most definitely the black horse in this competition.  I’d actually be interested to see what kind of songs he’d put out when left to his own devices.

